Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Last Guardian absence due to "technical difficulties"

Last Guardian absence due to "technical difficulties"

Wed 06 Jun 2012 7:27am GMT / 3:27am EDT / 12:27am PDT
Development

Sony president Shuhei Yoshida promises game still planned for PS3

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony Worldwide president Shuhei Yoshida has reassured consumers that The Last Guardian is till coming to PS3, despite technical difficulties.

"The team is back in Tokyo is working hard, and there are some technical difficulties that the team is focused on right now," he said in an interview with Eurogamer. "That's why we don't have an update."

He also brushed aside rumours that the game would be held back for the next Sony console, and stated it was still very much a PS3 game.

"When we have confidence in saying that, we will talk about it. But today, we are working through some engineering effort."

The game was notably absent from Sony's E3 conference on Monday, causing many to speculate on its fate. The game is currently being developed as a joint effort between Sony's UK, US and Japanese teams.

In December project lead Fumito Ueda left Sony, and is currently working on the game on a contractor basis.

1 Comment

David Radd
Senior Editor

359 78 0.2
I had a Last Guradian sized hole in my heart when this wasn't at Sony's press conference. I can only hope that this will appear at TGS for a release in 2013, because I'd say a 2012 release at this point looks unlikely.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now