Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PopCap Launches Bejeweled Legend in Japan

PopCap Launches Bejeweled Legend in Japan

Tue 05 Jun 2012 7:42pm GMT / 3:42pm EDT / 12:42pm PDT
MobileBusiness

New game was developed specifically for the Japanese market

PopCap Games announced that they are bringing Bejeweled Legend to the Japanese market. This is the company's first self-published game in the market.

Bejeweled Legend was developed for Japanese players by PopCap's Tokyo Studio and features a pirate-themed story with RPG progression. The game will release on iOS and Android for the Japanese leading mobile social gaming platform GREE with over 30 million users.

"PopCap is already enjoying considerable success in Japan, and Bejeweled Legend is an opportunity to take our biggest franchise to the next level in this market,"  said Yohei Ogura, Sales and Marketing Manager for PopCap Japan. "We are excited to bring the most regionally-customized adaptations of our hit franchise to Japanese audiences.

"Bejeweled is PopCap's best-known and most successful franchise to date," added Shigenori Araki, Executive Creative Director for PopCap Asia/Pacific. "We have adapted this beloved game in a unique way for Japanese audiences. It was both a huge responsibility and shows PopCap's commitment to develop highly polished games in Japan for Japan."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now