Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Over 2 million sold for XBLA Minecraft

Over 2 million sold for XBLA Minecraft

Tue 05 Jun 2012 8:40am GMT / 4:40am EDT / 1:40am PDT
RetailDevelopment

Indie darling becomes best selling XBLA title ever

The Xbox 360 version of Minecraft has broken sales records, and passed the 2 million mark after it was released on May 9.

The news was shared on Twitter thanks to portfolio director for XBLA at Microsoft Game Studios, Chris Charla.

"I guess I can officially mention Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition has crossed 2,000,000 in sales on XBLA!"

Markus 'Notch' Persson also had good news to share on the XBLA version, tweeting "best selling XBLA game ever, in less than a month."

And Persson seems to be eager to share the wealth, recently paying $6,543.21 for his Humble Indie Bundle V. The average price paid is $8.

3 Comments

Alex Byrom
Studying Multiplayer Online games design

33 0 0.0
I love it when you see developers give back to the community :-)

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Wayne Gibson
UK Marketing Manager for GameKrib.com

69 8 0.1
Bought it this weekend. It's become a secret obsession of mine.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Kayleigh McDougall
Studying BA(Hons) Game Design and Production Management

21 1 0.0
Not too surprised this has happened, minecraft is very popular all over the world on the pc as it is.

And good for Notch for being so generous!

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now