Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Call of Duty, Assassin's Creed titles coming to PS Vita

Call of Duty, Assassin's Creed titles coming to PS Vita

Tue 05 Jun 2012 2:07am GMT / 10:07pm EDT / 7:07pm PDT
Business

PS Vita getting some critical support from heavy hitting franchises.

Sony confirmed that there will be a Call of Duty release on Vita in Fall 2012. Called Call of Duty Black Ops Declassified, the game will have a focus on online play and is expected to release later in 2012

Also announced is Assassin's Creed 3: Liberation for the PS Vita. Based on the unsuccessful Louisiana rebellion of 1768, it will have the first female protagonist in the history of the franchise.

Assassin's Creed 3: Liberation will be launching in a bundle with a white PS Vita in October. Additionally, PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale was formally announced for PS Vita with full cross platform play with the PS3 version for up to six players.

3 Comments

Igor M
Rebel Without a Cause

22 18 0.8
Announcing 3 (three!) games doesn't really qualify as 'critical' support.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

James Stanard
Senior Engine Programmer

8 13 1.6
I think it's meant that getting two AAA external franchises on Vita is critical for its success. In other words, it's a critically low number. It's on life support. The third game mentioned is first party.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

David Radd
Senior Editor

359 78 0.2
The Vita clearly needs some support, and Call of Duty is still the largest AAA game franchise on the planet. And there's no telling how the Assassin's Creed 3: Liberation, but being an original entry might be a good selling point. So yes, it's some critically needed support - whether it will be enough is anyone's guess.

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now