Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Epic building new studio with Big Huge Games staff

Epic building new studio with Big Huge Games staff

Sun 03 Jun 2012 11:29pm GMT / 7:29pm EDT / 4:29pm PDT
Development

Team will remain in Baltimore; some staff already signed with Epic as contractors

Unreal maker Epic Games is starting a new studio staffed by former Big Huge Games talent.

The studio will come together in Baltimore but as it's early days and "there's a million things to work out", some ex-BHG staff will begin work at Epic's HQ as contractors, according to president Mike Capps.

Big Huge Games was closed last month as part of the 38 Studios collapse.

Capps revealed that the management of Big Huge Games had approached Epic about the possibility of starting a new studio working on its IP, with Epic deciding it was best to start from scratch in Baltimore

"We loved that they all wanted to keep working together, but it was pretty clear they'd have trouble building a demo and securing funding before their personal savings ran out," he wrote on the company website.

"In one of life's coincidences, Epic's directors had spent the morning discussing how we'd love to build even more successful projects with our growing team, but that we'd need a dramatic infusion of top talent to do so. Which, we all knew, was impossible.

"So now we're planning to start an impossible studio in Baltimore."

1 Comment

Rick Lopez Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 942 0.7
This is really happy news. Really... im happy for the people of Big Huge games. happy they can continue making games, because I loved what they have done with Kingdom of Amalur.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now