Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Diablo real money auctions set for June 12

Diablo real money auctions set for June 12

Thu 31 May 2012 8:32am GMT / 4:32am EDT / 1:32am PDT
Games

As servers face further issues and lock out players

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Blizzard has set a new launch date for Diablo III's real money auction houses, naming a date of June 12.

The date for the controversial feature quietly appeared via an in-game message following delays after the game's troubled first weeks.

"In light of the post-launch obstacles we've encountered, we have made the decision to move the launch of the real-money auction house beyond the previously estimated May time frame," a Blizzard representative said last week.

"As we mentioned in our original announcement, our goal has always been to ensure everyone has the smoothest experience possible when the real-money auction house launches, and we need a bit more time to iron out the existing general stability and gameplay issues before that feature goes live."

Meanwhile players yesterday suffered yet more error messages, as authentication servers struggled, making it impossible for some people to log in. The auction house was also down for planned maintenance.

1 Comment

Paul Gheran
Scrum Master

129 27 0.2
Haven't the customers who have the highest willingness to pay already finished outfitting their main characters? Once a single character is high enough, isn't there a trickle down across the account vastly reducing the customer and business value of a real money auction? The scrum master should've been in everyone's grill about this.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now