Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

SOE announces Quinne Larsen as 2012 G.I.R.L. Scholarship winner

SOE announces Quinne Larsen as 2012 G.I.R.L. Scholarship winner

Wed 30 May 2012 12:07am GMT / 8:07pm EDT / 5:07pm PDT
Education

She'll receive $10,000 for her schooling and a paid internship at SOE

Sony Online Entertainment announced that Quinne Larsen of Northridge, California was named the winner of the 2012 Gamers in Real Life (G.I.R.L.) Scholarship. She's receive $10,000 towards her tuition at California Institute of the Arts and will also have a 10-week paid internship at SOE's headquarters in San Diego,

"I was over the moon when I learned that I won the G.I.R.L. Scholarship," said Larsen. "I can't thank SOE enough for this opportunity and I look forward to furthering my passion and knowledge for video games."

Hundreds submitted two pieces of original concept art inspired by either PlanetSide 2 or EverQuest II, and an essay discussing their views on women in the gaming industry.

"We commend the dedication and achievement of students like Quinne," adds Joe Shoopack, director of artist development, Sony Online Entertainment. "She represents the next generation of video game artists and we are proud to have her as this year's G.I.R.L. Scholarship recipient."

"Our annual G.I.R.L. program helps to pave the way for more women to excel in the video game industry," said Laura Naviaux, senior vice president of global sales and marketing, Sony Online Entertainment. "We were impressed with the creativity and passion shown in not only Quinne's entry, but all the finalist entries. Every year we are thrilled to award these scholarships to young, talented students, so that they may continue to have opportunities to shape and bring diversity to our industry."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now