Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Minecraft sales total 9.2 million

Minecraft sales total 9.2 million

Fri 25 May 2012 9:46pm GMT / 5:46pm EDT / 2:46pm PDT

The collective sales of Notch's game are almost to 10 million

According to Mojang founder Markus Persson and business developer Daniel Kaplan, the indie hit Minecraft has sold 9.2 million units across all platforms.

"Minecraft has now sold six million copies. That's the original PC version only, and doesn't count Android, iOS or XBLA sales," said Persson in a setof tweets.

Kaplan confirmed the total sales when asked by Persson.

"Counting all formats, we should be at around nine million copies sold, I'd guess?" asked Persson.

"Yeah a little bit more. Maybe 9.2," Kaplan replied.

Minecraft's recent release for Xbox 360 set an Xbox Live sales record and sold 1 million units in under a week.

1 Comment

Kingman Cheng Illustrator and Animator

954 183 0.2
And I still haven't found an NPC village!

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now