Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GAME Australia closes 60 stores, axes 280 staff

GAME Australia closes 60 stores, axes 280 staff

Fri 25 May 2012 6:28am GMT / 2:28am EDT / 11:28pm PDT
Retail

Administrator begins culling underperforming stores across region

Administrators for GAME Australia have announced plans to close 60 stores in the region, at the cost of 264 jobs. A further 17 jobs are to go at the firm's head office.

"This is a difficult time for employees and closing the stores was not a decision we made easily," said Kate Warwick of PricewaterhouseCoopers. "However it is not financially viable to continue to operate at this level at this time."

PwC is to assist employees with redundancy along with the local Federal Government Department.

GAME Australia was functioning with around 500 staff. PwC has not yet detailed which stores will close in the region, but noted that "after reviewing the financial performance and profitability of the individual stores, and we regard to current discussions with interested parties, it is not possible to continue to trade these stores."

1 Comment

Tony Johns

520 12 0.0
where are the GAME closeures going to be?

Hopefully not in my area, or else there would just be EB Games and JB HiFi that are the only gaming retailers that do the things that GAME did.

Such as Pre-Owned games and all.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now