Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Judge suggests Xbox 360 import ban in Motorola case

Judge suggests Xbox 360 import ban in Motorola case

Wed 23 May 2012 7:58am GMT / 3:58am EDT / 12:58am PDT
HardwareLegal

4GB and 250GB versions of 360 affected, decision now with ITC

The US International Trade Commission's Judge David Shaw, currently presiding over the Microsoft versus Motorola case, has recommended an import ban on the 4GB and 250GB versions of the Xbox 360 S.

According to The Courthouse News Service, Judge Shaw also recommended a cease and desist order to prevent the sale on the consoles and that Microsoft post a bond reflecting 7 per cent of value of already imported Xbox inventory.

Microsoft argued that the decision went against the public interest as it would leave consumers forced to fall back on the PlayStation and the Wii. Shaw dismissed this, and suggested Nintendo and Sony were capable of meeting demand for consoles. Microsoft also argued that the bond was unnecessary, while Motorola called for it to be raised to 100 per cent of the inventory value.

The recommendations are now with the ITC, who can choose to accept or amend them.

It was last month that Judge Shaw found that the console violated four Motorola Mobility patents. The commission is expected to finish its investigation on August 23.

The initial complaint was filed by Motorola in November 2010.

1 Comment

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,246 2,232 1.0
Don't think I've seen one of these cases were the ITC judge agrees to the import ban. Even with hat in mind I still doubt an actual ban will take place.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now