Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GAME tweets GAMEfest 2012 cancellation

GAME tweets GAMEfest 2012 cancellation

Wed 23 May 2012 2:52pm GMT / 10:52am EDT / 7:52am PDT
RetailEvents

But retailer hints at possible return for 2013

UK retailer GAME has confirmed that there will be no GAMEfest event this year, and tweeted the news through its official account.

"I'm afraid #GAMEfest won't be happening this year - but we do have some cool things in the works! Stay tuned," it tweeted to a couple of curious consumers.

Separately it added "by the way - this doesn't mean it won't happen next year. *wink*"

Back in September GAME had said it would host its second GAMEfest, and anticipated 30,000 attendees, but the news that it won't be going ahead isn't a surprise considering the company's recent administration.

On the other side of the pond US retailer GameStop has just announced that it will hold its first consumer event in Texas on August 29.

1 Comment

Jamie Read
Junior 3D Artist

126 64 0.5
This isn't at all surprising. I didn't even realise they had even begun planning one for this year to be honest in the state the company was in.
Hopefully if GAMEfest returns in 2013, there will be more booths to play on, as queueing up 3 hours to play either Assassins Creed, CoD:MW3, Skyrim or BF3 was pretty unacceptable? Friends of mine who managed to go to last years EuroGamer had to queue up for about 1 hour.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Jamie Read on 24th May 2012 10:26am

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now