Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel gets Catharina Mallet to head new studio

By Steve Peterson gets Catharina Mallet to head new studio

Tue 22 May 2012 5:16am GMT / 1:16am EDT / 10:16pm PDT

Key producer behind The Sims Social for EA joins social publisher, the European casual/social gaming publisher, has hired Catharina Mallet away from EA to lead a new London studio which plans to ramp to 40 people by year-end., which has offices in London, Hamburg, Stockholm, Malmo, Milan, Bucharest, and San Francisco, has been steadily rising on the leaderboards at, overtaking EA as the #2 developer behind Zynga. has been feeling the heat with Zynga's recent release of Bubble Safari, given that's top game on Facebook is Bubble Witch Saga.

"We have the leading bubble shooter on Facebook. While there are a fair number of copycats popping up, we're pleased with the continued audience engagement that we get with Bubble Witch Saga," said chief marketing officer Alex Dale. "We think that will improve further when we launch the game on mobile."

Mallet will be responsible for development of casual games, and apparently has no plans to create more complex sim games. makes its money through virtual currency sales, advertising, and providing skilled tournament games to companies such as AOL.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now