Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Minecraft for Xbox 360 hits 1 million units sold

Minecraft for Xbox 360 hits 1 million units sold

Mon 14 May 2012 7:59pm GMT / 3:59pm EDT / 12:59pm PDT
Business

Mojang's hit continues to attract a huge audience

Microsoft has announced some big news for the Xbox Live version of Minecraft, confirming that the game has hit over 1 million downloads in under a week. Microsoft's Major Nelson also mentioned some impressive figures for the game, citing well over 2.4 million multiplayer sessions launched with well over 5.2 million hours played.

The game, which was in development by 4J Studios under the direction of Mojang, was the most expensive game developed specifically for Xbox Live Arcade. Sales showed promise when it was announced that the game had surpassed over 400k sales in the first day.

"Uhhhh, Microsoft just sent out a press release saying Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition has sold a million copies in five days," said Minecraft creator Marcus 'Notch' Persson on Twitter. "Wow."

"I feel stunned."

1 Comment

Sandy Lobban Founder and Creative Director, Noise Me Up

315 208 0.7
Good job by the guys at 4J :)

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now