Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GameStop removing PSP inventories in quarter of all stores

GameStop removing PSP inventories in quarter of all stores

Fri 11 May 2012 4:53pm GMT / 12:53pm EDT / 9:53am PDT
RetailHardware

It would appear that the PSP is starting to be phased out

US-based consumers will have to look long and hard for PSP titles, now that GameStop is starting to reduce inventory around the country. GameStop has confirmed that the smallest 25 percent of stores will have their PSP inventories removed altogether in an effort to consolidate supply.

"The consolidation is occurring to maximize the merchandising space in the smallest 25 percent of stores," said GameStop to Kotaku. "It will also provide a greater assortment in those stores that will continue to carry the category."

As the PS Vita starts to wind up in the US market, the prospect of PSP titles making a major splash seems all the less likely. Vita does not have a UMD drive, and requires all PSP titles to be purchased digitally.

GameStop will still carry PSP games on their online store, as well as the larger locations around the US.

1 Comment

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,716 598 0.3
Who cares what happens in bricks and mortar anymore.
You can buy everything PSP cheaper on the inter webs without leaving your seat. And you will still be able to in a decade's time.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now