Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Beyonce-targeted suit from Gate Five proceeds to trial

Beyonce-targeted suit from Gate Five proceeds to trial

Fri 11 May 2012 8:21pm GMT / 4:21pm EDT / 1:21pm PDT
LegalDevelopment

Developer Gate Five's $100 million lawsuit against pop diva Beyonce will head to trial

New York Justice Charles Ramos has allowed developer Gate Five's lawsuit against pop superstar Beyonce Knowles to proceed to trial. Gate Five's lawyer Peter Gallagher is "pleased" with the judge's ruling, according to the New York Post. Gate Five is seeking recompense for the $6.7 million it invested in the title's development, plus $100 million in damages.

Gate Five accused Knowles of walking away from a $20 million deal for a game called Starpower: Beyonce. Without Beyonce, the game was cancelled and Gate Five had to lay off 70 employees. Knowles' lawyers said the star had the right to walk away from the deal because Gate Five did not have financing. Gate Five countered, saying Beyonce knew it had a meeting with its financier on Dec 6, 2010. She walked out on the deal three days prior to that planned meeting.

Judge Ramos said that Beyonce should have given the developer notice before dropping the deal.

"You continue to negotiate right up until the time you pull the plug. That is not going to work with me," Ramos said.

The case is expected to proceed in late summer.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now