Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Xbox 360 tops all console sales in April in US with 236,000

Xbox 360 tops all console sales in April in US with 236,000

Thu 10 May 2012 10:05pm GMT / 6:05pm EDT / 3:05pm PDT
BusinessRetail

It's the 16th consecutive month for Microsoft's console

Microsoft has just issued its NPD reaction statement and revealed that the Xbox 360 sold through 236,000 units for the month of April, marking the 16th consecutive month that the console has topped all others in the US.

Overall, Xbox held 47 percent share of current-generation console sales, which Microsoft said is the 14th consecutive month Xbox 360 has held more than 40 percent of the current-generation console market share. Additionally, the company said that the total retail spend on the Xbox 360 platform in April (hardware, software and accessories) reached $261 million, which is "the most for any console in the U.S. and more than the spend on the other two current-generation consoles combined."

Kinect Star Wars held the number one spot among titles in the US on Xbox 360, and the console held seven of the top 10 spots for US console games in April.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now