Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

SimCity coming to Facebook?

By Mike Williams

SimCity coming to Facebook?

Wed 09 May 2012 9:58pm GMT / 5:58pm EDT / 2:58pm PDT

Electronic Arts' next big social transplant could be the city-management sim

SimCity Social could be Electronic Arts' next big Facebook game, according to some sleuthing by Sims fansite Sims VIP. At a time when competitors like CrowdStar are trying to move away from the social network, EA CEO John Riccitiello told CNBC Mad Money host Jim Kramer that the company would have a big social game hitting Facebook "a month from today."

Sims VIP found that Electronic Arts has registered several domains related to SimCity Social, including, and The Facebook URL "" redirects to the homepage, meaning the page exists, but it's unpublished. A Sims VIP reader also found code relating to a SimCity Social Facebook app by subsidiary Playfish.

With the launch of the next SimCity for PC still a year off, will this be EA's next use of the brand?

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now