Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

RIM unveils new gaming social hub for BlackBerry devices

RIM unveils new gaming social hub for BlackBerry devices

Fri 04 May 2012 5:17pm GMT / 1:17pm EDT / 10:17am PDT
MobilePublishing

RIM to offer new social app to work as 'Game Center' for BlackBerry 10 OS devices

Research in Motion has announced that they will pursue a social gaming hub for their market, with a new app to be launched on BlackBerry 10 mobile operating system devices. The new hub will serve as a gaming social platform for users to connect, interact and talk with one another. At the present time, the new app is simply known as "Games."

The new platform compares closely to Apple's Game Center, in that those people using BlackBerrys will now have a central meeting place for gaming activities. RIM has announced that the Games app will integrate with BlackBerry Messenger as well as Scoreloop's social gaming network. Further plans for multiplayer gaming capabilities are being looked into, with consideration for both turn-based and real-time gaming.

Things look to be going up for game developers on the BlackBerry platform - a platform that has long been regarded as miniscule. A wave of new mobile titles are coming to BlackBerry, and RIM is making moves to incentivize developers into working on the platform.

[via Pocket Gamer]

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now