Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gameloft's smartphone and tablet sales grow 59 percent year-over-year

Gameloft's smartphone and tablet sales grow 59 percent year-over-year

Fri 04 May 2012 4:06am GMT / 12:06am EDT / 9:06pm PDT
MobileFinancial

Revenue grows 14 percent on the back of strong sales on smartphones and in emerging markets

Gameloft has released its financial earnings report for the first quarter of 2012. Total consolidated sales for the quarter came to EUR44.8 million ($58.9 million), up 14 percent from a EUR39.5 million ($52 million) total in 2011. Asia-Pacific (APAC) and Latin America (LATAM) represented 44 percent of Gameloft's sales for the quarter. North America followed with 30 percent, while Europe, the Middle East, and Africa (EMEA) came to 25 percent.

Sales of Gameloft titles on smartphones and tablets grew by 59 percent year-over-year, representing 40 percent of the company's total sales. Gameloft's monthly active users currently number 45 million, with more than half of smartphone revenue coming from in-app purchases and advertising revenue.

The company expects sales to continue to grow on the back of increasing smartphone and tablet shipments worldwide. Gameloft intends to accelerate its product launches in order to improve sales growth in the second quarter of 2012.

Gameloft's financial results for the second quarter will be published on July 26, 2012.

1 Comment

Alfonso Sexto
Lead Tester

714 496 0.7
I try my best with this company (like any other), but Gameloft has all but buried my respect for them when it comes to creativity.

I cannot help but see this grow on sales on a company that bases their market on copycats and rip-offs as a terrible sign for the industry as a whole.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now