Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo to launch digital downloads for third-parties

Nintendo to launch digital downloads for third-parties

Wed 02 May 2012 4:52pm GMT / 12:52pm EDT / 9:52am PDT
OnlinePublishing

Nintendo clearly looking to leverage digital on 3DS and Wii U going forward

Nintendo previously announced that its own first-party titles would soon be released digitally as well as at retail, and now it would appear that the platform holder would like to make digital releases possible for third parties too. A statement released by Nintendo today has indicated that the company is currently working on a new system that will allow for third-party publishers to offer their games via digital distribution.

"We are currently preparing a program for third parties, but have nothing specific to announce at this time," said Nintendo to IGN.

Nintendo itself is gearing up to make its games, starting with New Super Mario Bros. 2, available for download simultaneously with the physical software release. The program will begin with 3DS games, but it's highly likely to take prominence on Wii U later in the year too.

News on any solid plans, confirmed publishing partners and games remains aloof at this time, but we expect to hear more news at E3.

2 Comments

Morville O'Driscoll
Games Blogger & Journalist

1,374 1,024 0.7
Damn... If it's in-house, it means no Steam. :( On the plus-side, Nintendo are sure to do a better job than EA, so it's better than if they'd chosen Origin. :)

Posted:A year ago

#1

Patrick Frost
QA Project Monitor

383 175 0.5
I think this could mean that they will offer it to 3rd parties that don't have online systems of their own. Steam on Wii U is indeed the announcement that I hope for at E3.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now