Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

UK developers make Sunday Times Rich List

UK developers make Sunday Times Rich List

Tue 01 May 2012 8:23am GMT / 4:23am EDT / 1:23am PDT
Development

Rare, Traveller's Tales, Jagex, Miniclip and GAME founders earn their spot

The Sunday Times Rich List featured a number of prominent names from the UK games industry this weekend, with Rare, Traveller's Tales, Jagex and Miniclip all making an appearance.

Top of the extremely shiny list was Neil Taylor and family, sat at 406 with 189 million to their name. Ironically, Taylor made his fortune creating the GAME retail brand, using the money made to build a lucrative property portfolio.

Taylor is followed by Tihan Presbie at 482, who created London based gaming site Miniclip. He's worth 155 million, owning 85 per cent of the business.

Jagex's Andrew and Paul Gower boasted a personal fortune of 102 million, putting them at 740, and noting that Andrew sold his 38.3 per cent stake last year for 88 million, while Paul still has a 6.1 per cent stake valued at 14 million.

Jon Burton, the man behind successful LEGO studio Traveller's Tales took the 908 spot, with a wealth of 80 million, while Chris Stamper, Rare founder, was number 962 in the list with 75 million.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now