Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Plants vs. Zombies merchandise blowout

Plants vs. Zombies merchandise blowout

Mon 30 Apr 2012 9:09pm GMT / 5:09pm EDT / 2:09pm PDT
BusinessMarketing

PopCap looks to leverage its brands with everything from hats and clothing to toys and calendars

PopCap Games has announced that it has signed a number of licensing agreements for Plants vs. Zombies. These agreements today represent the first major partnerships PopCap has entered to license its properties for consumer products.

The companies that have signed licensing deals with PopCap are Trends International, Bioworld Merchandising, Funko, MjC International, Jazwares and Walls360. The first products will start rolling out this Spring, with products based upon Bejeweled and other PopCap franchises coming in early 2013.

"We're taking a measured, deliberate approach to licensing our IPs, focusing on quality brand extensions that expand our unique game icons and experiences for our fans in authentic, meaningful ways," said Brennan Townley, director of brand licensing at PopCap Games. "The partnerships we've announced today represent partnerships with some of the most highly regarded licensees in their respective categories."

Bioworld Merchandising will create clothing, bags and hats, Jazwares will make toys and electronic accessories, and Walls360 will create "wall graphics" for room decorations. Meanwhile Funko! will create Plants vs. Zombies vinyl figurines, MjC International will make sleepwear and boxers, and finally Trends International is developing calendars and posters.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now