Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Guild Wars 2 digital sales closed at ArenaNet

Guild Wars 2 digital sales closed at ArenaNet

Fri 27 Apr 2012 8:12pm GMT / 4:12pm EDT / 1:12pm PDT
Online

The developer ceases digital sales of its upcoming MMO to ensure a smooth launch

ArenaNet has halted sales of its upcoming MMO, Guild Wars 2, in North America. As the game heads into weekend beta, the developer has decided to cut off sales to ensure that servers are not overloaded. Every digital copy includes access into the weekend beta events.

"We have sold out of keys for digital distribution in North America. GameStop and Best Buy still have stock available," announced ArenaNet community manager Regina Buenaobra on the game's official Facebook page.

"We limit sales to ensure we have enough capacity for our customers. We're likely to have capacity available after the initial crunch at the start of the weekend. Players who purchase when we're able to resume digital sales at buy.guildwars2.com will still be able to play for the remainder of the weekend."

EA's Star Wars: The Old Republic also limited digital sales to make sure that its launch went smoothly. Unfortunately, a smooth launch has stopped reports that subscriptions are already declining for the Bioware MMO.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now