Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

US agency NEA awards major grants to game projects

US agency NEA awards major grants to game projects

Thu 26 Apr 2012 8:07am GMT / 4:07am EDT / 1:07am PDT
Development

The National Endowment for the Arts to fund games exploring climate change and literature

Four game projects will receive funding from the US National Endowment for the Arts, after the agency changed its criteria to include the sector.

The first projects to benefit from the change are the ninth Games For Change festival, which will receive $50,000 and the development of an online and mobile game by New York developer Let's Breakthrough, which has been awarded $75,000.

Spelman College also received $100,000 to support a climate change alternate reality game, while The University Of Southern California was awarded $40,000 for a Thoreau themed project.

The agency made the changes last May, expanding the Arts on Radio and Television to Arts in Media, to allow for video games on various platforms.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now