Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Super Smash Bros sequel to focus on Wii U and 3DS connectivity

Super Smash Bros sequel to focus on Wii U and 3DS connectivity

Thu 26 Apr 2012 8:51pm GMT / 4:51pm EDT / 1:51pm PDT
GamesHardwareDevelopment

Nintendo producer Masahiro Sakurai is aiming to allow players to play on either platform

Super Smash Bros producer Masahiro Sakurai has told IGN that the key to the sequel will be Wii U and 3DS connectivity. Sakurai believes the game has to expand beyond just adding more content.

"I intend to change direction a little as we go," said Sakurai. "The key to that's going to be its dual support for 3DS/Wii U."

Sakurai admits that work on the game is in the early stages, but explained that the connectivity between the two systems would be a center pillar for the new experience.

"I'm really just getting started on this so it's going to take time, but I'll come up with something that uses that link as the game's central axis, so I hope you're looking forward to it," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now