Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Vancouver Film School awards 4th Women in Games Scholarship

Vancouver Film School awards 4th Women in Games Scholarship

Wed 25 Apr 2012 7:49am GMT / 3:49am EDT / 12:49am PDT
EducationPeople

Norway's Kristina Soltvedt Wiik wins coveted educational award

Vancouver Film School has awarded its fourth Women in Games scholarship to Norway's Kristina Soltvedt Wiik.

Wiik will receive a fully paid scholarship to the institution's well respected one year Game Design program.

Currently, Wiik works as a full-time journalist for Game Reactor magazine, but also produces game gaming fiction in her spare time, with aspirations to move into full-time narrative designs for games.

"As always, I am extremely impressed with the quality of applications for the Women in Games Scholarship" said course leader Dave Warfield, Head of Game Design at VFS.

"Our past winners have proven to be exceptional students and already are making a positive impact in the game industry as designers. With what I have seen from our latest winner, the future of gaming looks very promising!"

The scholarship's three previous winners have all gone on to secure industry jobs around the US.

"My initial reaction to receiving the Women in Games Scholarship was disbelief," added Wiik.

"It is a tremendous privilege to be awarded such a coveted scholarship and I can't help but be excited at the possibility of realizing my dreams. I'm really looking forward to the year ahead of me, and the ensuing opportunities that VFS will surely offer."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now