Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ sells its ValuSoft division to Cosmi

THQ sells its ValuSoft division to Cosmi

Wed 25 Apr 2012 5:09pm GMT / 1:09pm EDT / 10:09am PDT
Business

THQ's focus remains on core games as it looks to regain profitability

THQ today confirmed that it's sold off its ValuSoft games division responsible for cheaper PC casual offerings like 18 Wheels of Steel and Master Cook. Consumer software firm Cosmi picked up ValuSoft for an undisclosed price.

The acquisition was made possible through the creation of ValuSoft Finance LLC, a sister company to Cosmi. Cosmi noted that the new ValuSoft+Cosmi venture makes it the second largest US Retail Publisher of PC Games in units sold and the #1 Retail Publisher in the Value Software Category by units sold.

As for THQ, the move comes as little surprise, given that THQ has been struggling financially and has been streamlining its business to focus its portfolio on fewer, higher quality core games, like Darksiders II, which was pushed back recently for extra polish.

"THQ's product strategy is aligned to create and market high-quality video games for both consoles and PCs. With the transition of the 'Value' PC business to Cosmi, our internal resources are now focused on our core video game portfolio where we can drive the highest quality performance and execution for our games. This shift also presents a great, new opportunity for ValuSoft and its broad portfolio of products," said Brian Farrell, President and CEO, THQ Inc.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now