Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

PlayScreen talks advertising as differentiator for apps

PlayScreen talks advertising as differentiator for apps

Sun 22 Apr 2012 2:06am GMT / 10:06pm EDT / 7:06pm PDT
MobileBusiness

With thousands of new apps everyday, William Volk says, "You have to be better than the rest"

PlayScreen recently posted billboard advertisements for PlayScreen Poker on the highway between Las Vegas and California. This attracted record numbers of players to the game, and as PlayScreen CCO William Volk pointed out, it's key to do whatever you can to stand out in the field.

"There's 22,000 new apps every day. You have to be better than the rest. The quality of games has gotten so high," said Volk. "The NES age, which I remember because I got to work then, during the whole era there was 700 games total and now there's thousands of games everyday. It used to be you bid in Kyoto for your cart allocation, but now something like Tiny Wings can come out of nowhere and do great. So any differentiator is key."

Check out the full interview on [a]list.

4 Comments

Luke Salvoni
Co-Founder & iOS Developer

65 4 0.1
I read most of the full interview.... I'd still love to know where this outrageous figure of 22,000 apps per day has come from. He can't possibly be including the unknown number of app submissions to Google Play - seeing as his game is not yet available for that platform?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
I reckon there are about 1,000 new iOS apps a day, most of which aren't games. And most of which are indie dross.

Sure, visibility is a problem, the biggest problem. This is why publishers will win out in the end.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now