Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Skype recruiting London Xbox devs

Skype recruiting London Xbox devs

Fri 20 Apr 2012 9:14am GMT / 5:14am EDT / 2:14am PDT
Hardware

Job ad points to Skype and Xbox integration

A job ad placed by Skype for its London office has hinted that the service will be coming Xbox, at least in some form.

"We're building the next generations of our products and technology right here in London and Skype is looking to hire a Software Development Engineer to contribute to the development of our experiences on Xbox," reads the listing.

Little has been heard about Microsoft's plans for the VOIP service since it was acquired for 5.3 billion last year, but the new placements strongly suggest that a console-based service is in the works in some form.

"As a member of the Skype Xbox Engineering Team in London, you will have a strong technical background developing client and/or embedded software."

Whether Skype would be a standalone service, or see integration into Kinect or the Xbox's voice chat, is unknown.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now