Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Prey 2 delayed, does not meet Bethesda's "quality standards"

Prey 2 delayed, does not meet Bethesda's "quality standards"

Thu 19 Apr 2012 8:31pm GMT / 4:31pm EDT / 1:31pm PDT

Bethesda Software has delayed the Prey sequel without putting another date on the table

Bethesda Softworks has announced that Human Head Studios' sequel to Prey has been delayed beyond its original 2012 release window. No further date was given by Bethesda, but the delay is because the game does not meet Bethesda's "quality standards". Previous rumors stated that Bethesda had cancelled the game outright.

"Development of Prey 2 has not been cancelled but the game will not be released in 2012 as planned. The delay is due to the fact that game development has not progressed satisfactorily this past year, and the game does not currently meet our quality standards," said Bethesda in a statement.

"Prey 2 has shown great promise and we regret disappointing our fans. We have made a substantial investment in game development to deliver the experience fans want. We are determined only to release the AAA game that fans rightfully expect, and are unwilling to compromise our quality standards to meet a release schedule."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now