Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Bethesda wins big at Game Marketing Awards 2012

Bethesda wins big at Game Marketing Awards 2012

Wed 18 Apr 2012 4:52pm GMT / 12:52pm EDT / 9:52am PDT
Advertising

Bethesda named Marketing Team of the Year thanks to Skyrim advertising

Bethesda Softworks

The Bethesda Softworks division, founded in 1986, has a long history of success as a developer and publisher...

bethsoft.com

The Game Marketing Summit has wrapped up and the annual Game Marketing Awards have been handed out. This year's big winner was AKQA, the advertising partner with Bethesda. The studio and firm made a big impact this year with Skyrim's overall advertising and marketing strategy.

AKQA was named as "Game Marketing Agency of the Year," taking home multiple awards from the show. Bethesda's Pete Hines also confirmed wins for "Campaign of the Year" for Skyrim and other awards given to Rage. Those awards include "Best Use of Sound," "Best Website for a Product," "Best Online Advertising Campaign," and others.

While Bethesda certainly did win big this year, other firms saw some major nods. EA won the "Best Partnership" award with ESPN, Ubisoft was able to take home "Outstanding Overall Marketing Campaign - General Entertainment" for their work with Rocksmith, and Activision scored big with Call of Duty XP for the "Most Effective Buzz Marketing: Promotion" award.

1 Comment

Dominic Jakube
Student

92 13 0.1
At least two people asked me "whats the game with the arrow to the knee?" does that count as marketing?

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Dominic Jakube on 19th April 2012 6:14pm

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now