Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Wasteland 2 funding drive closes just over $3 million

Wasteland 2 funding drive closes just over $3 million

Tue 17 Apr 2012 9:59pm GMT / 5:59pm EDT / 2:59pm PDT
Finance

Brian Fargo's sequel to the PC classic closes its multi-million run on Kickstarter

InXile's Kickstarter for the sequel to the classic tactical RPG Wasteland has closed its funding drive at $2,933,252. With the additional money the studio has taken in via PayPal, the final total comes to $3,040,649.

Wasteland 2 will be the direct sequel to Wasteland, which was the spiritual predecessor to the Fallout series. InXile founder Brian Fargo worked on the original game and has collected many alumni for the project. Obsidian's Chris Avellone is helping, alongside Wasteland designers Alan Pavlish and Mike Stackpole. Fallout co-creator Jason Anderson is writing Wasteland 2's story, while Fallout composer Mark Morgan will also be lending a hand on the new game.

Crossing the $2 million threshold allowed inXile the ability to bring the game to Mac and Linux as well as PC. Surpassing $3 million means the studio will also look into creating mod tools for the game.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now