Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA responds to Command and Conquer plagiarism claims

EA responds to Command and Conquer plagiarism claims

Mon 16 Apr 2012 7:39am GMT / 3:39am EDT / 12:39am PDT
Legal

Controversial tank designs will not be used in Tiberium Alliances

Concept art from EA's free-to-play Command & Conquer title Tiberium Alliances has provoked accusations of plagiarism, Gamespot reports.

Similarities between the designs for Tiberium Alliances' Grinder and Bombard tanks and Warhammer 40k's Bonecruncha and Baneblade vehicles were highlighted by Reddit users last week.

However, EA claims that the art depicting the vehicles was released accidentally, and the IP issues have already been resolved with Games Workshop.

"The artwork was internal EA concept art that was unintentionally released publicly. No Warhammer 40,000 tanks have ever made an appearance in Command and Conquer: Tiberium Alliances, and never will," an EA representative said.

"Games Workshop and EA continue to have a strong relationship working together on Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning and the new free to play game Warhammer Online: Wrath of Heroes, which just entered open beta."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now