Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA partners with Tencent to bring The Sims Social to China

EA partners with Tencent to bring The Sims Social to China

Thu 12 Apr 2012 2:31pm GMT / 10:31am EDT / 7:31am PDT
Online

The open beta for the game has launched on Tencent's Qzone platform

EA announced today that it's launched an open beta for The Sims Social (Mo Ni Shi Guang) in China. The game is available on Tencent's open platform Qzone.

EA stressed that there will be no data wipe of the servers when the game goes live, so players' in-game data and progressions are maintained after the testing phase.

It's important to note that Mo Ni Shi Guang is not a straight port of The Sims Social. Playfish Beijing added new elements specifically for Chinese players, "with aesthetics adapted for Chinese consumers."

EA is smart to leverage the growing Chinese games market, where a majority of players appear willing to pay online every month, according to Niko Partners.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now