Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sonic co-creator joins Nintendo

Sonic co-creator joins Nintendo

Wed 04 Apr 2012 10:17pm GMT / 6:17pm EDT / 3:17pm PDT
People

Sonic the Hedgehog's Hirokazu Yasuhara moves to Nintendo following stint at Namco Bandai

Gaming guru and legendary director Hirokazu Yasuhara, partly responsible for the creation of Sonic the Hedgehog, has joined the ranks of Nintendo. While his new title at Nintendo has yet to be revealed, it has been confirmed by the developer/publisher that Yasuhara will be moving to the US for his new role.

Specifically, Yasuhara will be working at the Nintendo NST division, or Nintendo Software Technology. This group has been known for some time to develop and work with many IPs owned by Nintendo, and all platforms currently offered by Nintendo. Some of the studio's recent titles include Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Mini-Land Mayhem for DS and several DSiWare titles.

Yasuhara, who has worked for many companies since getting his start at Sega in 1988, recently wrapped up working at Namco Bandai for Pac-Man Party. He also has experience working on Western titles, doing work as a senior designer with Naughty Dog for Jak & Daxter as well as Uncharted.

[via Gamasutra]

1 Comment

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,232 2,161 1.0
Crytek, Vigil, Naughty Dog, Zipper Interactive....Nintendo seems to be on the prowl for talent right now.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now