Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft picks Kinect Accelerator winners

Microsoft picks Kinect Accelerator winners

Tue 03 Apr 2012 7:46am GMT / 3:46am EDT / 12:46am PDT
HardwareDevelopment

11 start ups will receive advice and funding for Kinect projects

Microsoft has chosen 11 start ups to take part in its Kinect Accelerator programme, selected from 500 applicants and a number of different disciplines.

Microsoft were only looking for ten companies when they started the search in November, but the judges, led by Techstars managing director Dave Malcom, saw fit to add one extra team to the final list.

All companies will get access to Microsoft experts, an Xbox development kit and $20,000 in funding from Techstars (who will take a six per cent stake in the company).

  • Freak'n Genius, Seattle
  • Gest Sure Technologies, Toronto
  • Ikkos, Seattle
  • Jintronix, Montreal
  • Kimetric, Buenos Aires
  • Manctl, Lyon
  • Nconnex, Hadley
  • Styku, LA
  • Ubi, Munich
  • Voxon, New York
  • Zebcare, Boston

The companies' projects range from low-cost 3D scanners and virtual fitting rooms to healthcare tools and interior design.

Jintronix, which aims to use Kinect's capabilities for rehabilitation tools for stroke victoms, announced its success on its company blog.

"After a grueling selection process that saw 500+ applicants from all corners of the globe, we at Jintronix are pleased to announce our participation as one of the 11 inaugural teams for the Kinect Accelerator program offered by Microsoft."

"We are proud of our work leading up to this announcement and are taking this opportunity to further commit ourselves to our mission, product and company."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now