Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Disney's Spector "desperately" wants to port Epic Mickey to PS3, 360

Disney's Spector "desperately" wants to port Epic Mickey to PS3, 360

Mon 26 Mar 2012 2:47pm GMT / 10:47am EDT / 7:47am PDT
Games

With the sequel already announced for multiple platforms, perhaps Disney will green light it

Disney last week confirmed that Epic Mickey 2 is in development for all three consoles, but as it stands now, the original remains a Wii exclusive. Creator Warren Spector is hoping to change that.

"I will tell you I desperately want to do it, and other than that I have no comment at this time," he told Game Informer when asked about porting the first game to PS3 and Xbox 360. "I just think it would be cool for people to see where the story started, so we'll see."

"We sold many millions of copies of [Epic Mickey] on just the Wii, and being on the Wii was great. It was a perfect way to reintroduce Mickey as a hero in video games," he added.

An HD port of the title would probably be fairly economical for Disney, and the idea of exposing the original to a much larger installed base does make sense given that a sequel is already in development for those platforms.

3 Comments

David Radd
Senior Editor

360 77 0.2
It makes a lot of sense to do it, particularly in the case of the PS3 since all of the motion control functionality could be added with the Move.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Andrew Clayton
QA Weapons Tester

150 7 0.0
Somehow I expected "Epic" Mickey to use something other than a paintbrush to combat foes. I'm not sure this will translate well with the hardcore audience.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Private
Industry

1,187 185 0.2
I look forward to get the second game on PS3 with up to date HD graphics. :)

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now