Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Slightly Mad raises $660k through crowd-funding for next game

Slightly Mad raises $660k through crowd-funding for next game

Fri 23 Mar 2012 5:41pm GMT / 1:41pm EDT / 10:41am PDT
BusinessFinance

Slightly Mad Studios working on new title, C.A.R.S.

Racing game developer Slightly Mad Studios, most recently known for their work on Need for Speed: Shift, has managed to raise $660,000 through their own crowd-sourcing platform. The money is specifically being put towards development of a new title, C.A.R.S.

Total numbers for the World of Mass Development platform have been positive for the studio, who hopes to raise $5 million for a properly developed two-year cycle game. Those wishing to help buy stock in the title can donate anywhere from $5 to $100,000. Pushing away from the normal publisher/developer relationship, Slightly Mad is taking a more conventional business approach, by offering stock in the game. They say that the new game should be able to raise upwards of $53 million, and that profits would be shared with all those who back the title. Slightly Mad has confirmed that 30 percent of all profits will go directly to the studio.

"It's great to see our WMP portal performing well. It's nothing less than a revolutionary new approach to game development and funding," said Slightly Mad CEO Ian Bell. "It allows developers to make the game they want to make, without undue publisher pressure."

The new title, C.A.R.S., has been announced as a racing title, with precious little details being offered at this time.

The Mass Development platform has been running since October 2011, and has already hit over 40,000 backers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now