Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Halfbrick Studios acquires Onan Games

Halfbrick Studios acquires Onan Games

Mon 19 Mar 2012 6:10pm GMT / 2:10pm EDT / 11:10am PDT
MobileBusiness

Fruit Ninja developer expands operations with new acquisition of Spanish game developer

Halfbrick Studios, thriving from its successful Fruit Ninja and Jetpack Joyride franchises, is expanding with the acquisition of Onan Game based out of Valencia, Spain. Financial terms were not disclosed.

Onan will bring more experience to the table with their popular Mandreel platform for iOS, Android, HTML5 and Flash development; Mandreel supports the platforms with a single C++ code base. This could be indicating more of a push into expansive mobile platform releases for Halfbrick. The studio intends to use Mandreel to improve development time, and increase distribution along multiple platforms, including Facebook.

"Onan has created something that is incredibly powerful in such a fast-paced industry. It's our goal to maximize reach and bring our games to new fans, and we welcome Onan into the Halfbrick family know that they will help us achieve exactly that," said Halfbrick CEO Shainiel Deo.

"We want to see our technology used by the best and most creative developers, and Halfbrick is undoubtedly one of the top studios in the world," added Miguel Pastor, Onan Games CEO. "We can't wait to see what awesome new ideas and projects will arise in the coming months."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now