Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Wasteland 2 Kickstarter quickly surpasses $1m

Wasteland 2 Kickstarter quickly surpasses $1m

Thu 15 Mar 2012 3:54pm GMT / 11:54am EDT / 8:54am PDT
FinanceDevelopment

The $900,000 goal set by inXile was reached in under two days

Shortly after Double Fine's adventure game Kickstarter closed with a record-breaking $3.4 million, inXile's Kickstarter for Wasteland 2 blew by its $900,000 goal and as of this writing is sitting at more than $1 million. The game is approaching 18,000 backers and still has 32 days to go.

Wasteland 2's Kickstarter has seen overwhelming support, not just from fans, but also industry heavyweights like Blizzard's Rob Pardo who commented, "I would be very excited to see what Brian could achieve with a sequel to such a classic like the first Wasteland."

Having reached his goal so quickly, inXile's Brian Fargo is hugely excited for the chance to work on a sequel to the 1988 RPG classic.

"I haven't been more excited to make a game in over a decade. It is a dream to focus all my attention on making a wonderful experience without distraction from outside forces," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now