Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Star Wars: Clone Wars Adventures enlists 10 million users

Star Wars: Clone Wars Adventures enlists 10 million users

Mon 12 Mar 2012 8:02pm GMT / 4:02pm EDT / 1:02pm PDT

Sony Online Entertainment's free-to-play Star Wars title is still going strong

Sony Online Entertainment and LucasArts have announced that Star Wars: Clone Wars Adventures has crossed 10 million registered players since its launch in September of 2010. The game is a family-friendly, free-to-play MMO based on Cartoon Network's Clone Wars animated series.

"Clone Wars Adventures is one of our original free-to-play games and it continues to demonstrate the success of the free-to-play business model," said John Smedley, President of Sony Online Entertainment. "Surpassing 10 million registered players so quickly is an extraordinary achievement and we have no intention of slowing down. Our goal is to continue to create an immersive environment that captures the essence of Star Wars, and we remain committed to further amplifying the Star Warsexperience for all of our 10 million-plus registered players."

"Clone Wars Adventures does an exceptional job of integrating the storylines from Star Wars: The Clone Wars," said Mary Bihr, VP of Global Publishing at LucasArts. "This unmistakable bond between the animated series and Clone Wars Adventures provides fans an amazing opportunity to actually be a part of the galactic conflict and is an instrumental factor in acquiring such remarkable registration numbers."

To celebrate the milestone, SOE is giving away in-game Gold Death Watch armor to all registered players. In addition, Star Wars Episode I villain Darth Maul will be joining the game on March 15, allowing users the chance to fight the Sith Lord and gain a new player title.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now