Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GDC 2012 sees record 22,500 attendees

GDC 2012 sees record 22,500 attendees

Mon 12 Mar 2012 5:29pm GMT / 1:29pm EDT / 10:29am PDT
Events

This represents a 17% increase over last year's trade show

UBM TechWeb Game Network, organizers of the Game Developers Conference, announced today that GDC 2012 set a new record, attracting 22,500 game professionals during the show last week in San Francisco. The event's attendance was up 17 percent over the previous year's GDC.

GDC 2013 has already been scheduled to take place at the Moscone Convention Center in San Francisco from Monday, March 25 to Friday, March 29, 2013. A call for lecture submissions will open this summer.

"The GDC reflects the full spectrum of the game development community," said Meggan Scavio, general manager of the Game Developers Conference. "The continued growth of the conference is a great indicator of a healthy and exciting industry. We are very proud to provide the forum for game makers to connect, dialogue, showcase, and learn in sessions, summits, expos and pavilions every year."

GDC 2012 was especially important for the publication you're reading now, as we took the opportunity to relaunch as GamesIndustry International, forming the largest global trade publication on the planet.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now