Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Crytek announces first mobile title

Crytek announces first mobile title

Tue 06 Mar 2012 2:50am GMT / 9:50pm EST / 6:50pm PST
Mobile

Crytek is making a puzzle game - not exactly what you'd expect

One of the biggest gaming firms in Europe is close to launching a mobile specific title, a first for the studio. Crytek has announced that the new game, Fibble - Flick 'n' Roll, will be a puzzle game that utilizes physics and strategy. This is a major departure from a studio known to produce AAA PC titles commonly associated with 'breaking' PCs.

"Going mobile is an incredibly exciting step for us as a game development company. The way that people play games on mobile devices is a real blessing. This allows us to get back to our roots, experiment and focus our energy on creating great gameplay experiences while still keeping Crytek's high production values," said Cevat Yerli, CEO & President of Crytek.

"With Fibble - Flick 'n' Roll, Crytek is aiming to surprise people with a whole new style of game as well as to make a big impact in the field of mobile entertainment. It will also give us a great opportunity to make a big splash with a whole new generation of players who've yet to play a Crytek game. We ourselves love to play games on mobile devices and we very much look forward to bringing our production values and skills to them," added Nick Button-Brown, General Manager Games at Crytek.

Crytek is also currently working on Ryse, a core game for Kinect.

1 Comment

Adam Campbell
Associate Producer

1,165 948 0.8
Called this some time ago. The question really is their potential move into middleware for mobile..

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Adam Campbell on 6th March 2012 8:59am

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now