Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Apple App Store crosses 25 billion downloads

Apple App Store crosses 25 billion downloads

Mon 05 Mar 2012 8:23pm GMT / 3:23pm EST / 12:23pm PST
Mobile

A game is the 25 billionth app downloaded from Apple's App Store for iOS

On the eve of the reveal for this year's iPad model, Apple has announced that more than 25 billion apps have been downloaded from the iOS App Store. A game, Disney's Where's My Water? Free, was the 25 billionth app downloaded.

"We'd like to thank our customers and developers for helping us achieve this historic milestone of 25 billion apps downloaded," said Eddy Cue, Apple's senior vice president of Internet Software and Services. "When we launched the App Store less than four years ago, we never imagined that mobile apps would become the phenomenon they have, or that developers would create such an incredible selection of apps for iOS users."

Currently, the App Store offers more than 550,000 apps for more than 315 million iOS devices worldwide.

The new iPad is rumored to include a Retina display running a resolution of 2048 x 1536 pixels. According to TheNextWeb, some developers are having issues fitting the new Retina-style apps within Apple's 20MB size limit for 3G downloads. These developers affected are using custom art and universal apps that shift when used on the iPad or iPhone, instead of using separate binaries for each platform.

We'll have more on Apple's next tablet when its press event kicks off on March 7.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now