Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Notch shares $3m dividend with employees

Notch shares $3m dividend with employees

Fri 02 Mar 2012 2:42pm GMT / 9:42am EST / 6:42am PST
Online

Minecraft creator distributes payout among Mojang colleagues

Markus "Notch" Persson shared his recent and hefty $3 million dividend with his team at Mojang.

"Before tax, my dividends from Mojang for 2011 was about three million dollars. I chose to distribute that to the other employees," tweeted the Minecraft creator.

"Every single Mojangsta is a massive part of the reason Mojang is the best place on earth to work at right now."

Persson also remarked that he was sharing the story to quash recent rumours.

It's not the first time in the past month that Persson's cash has made the headlines. Around two weeks ago he offered Double Fine's Tim Schafer $13 million to fund a Psychonauts sequel.

6 Comments

Greg Knight Freelance Developer

56 49 0.9
Top guy.

Posted:2 years ago

#1
Top Notch!

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Terence Gage Freelance writer

1,288 120 0.1
Zing!

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Jim Webb Executive Editor/Community Director, E-mpire Ltd. Co.

2,271 2,440 1.1
I was waiting to see how long it took before somebody posted that, Dr.

And bravo to Notch for recognizing the efforts of his staff and rewarding them for such.

Posted:2 years ago

#4
This makes me warm inside!

Posted:2 years ago

#5

Phil Williams freelance artist, Gobo Games

6 1 0.2
Dude!

Posted:2 years ago

#6

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now