Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo skates free in Wii Fit patent suit

Nintendo skates free in Wii Fit patent suit

Fri 02 Mar 2012 10:19pm GMT / 5:19pm EST / 2:19pm PST
Legal

U.S. District Court Judge decides that Nintendo was not infringing on patents

Nintendo has sailed through another patent infringement lawsuit unscathed. A U.S. District Court Judge in Maryland has decided that Nintendo did not infringe on an IA Labs patent (U.S. Patent No. 7,121,982) with its Wii Fit Balance Board and software.

"Nintendo has a passionate tradition of developing innovative products while respecting the intellectual property rights of others. We vigorously defend patent lawsuits when we firmly believe that we have not infringed another party's patent," said Rick Flamm, Nintendo of America's senior vice president of Legal & General Counsel.

He added, "We refuse to succumb to patent trolls."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now