Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Mojang acquires Minecraft mod developer team behind Bukkit

Mojang acquires Minecraft mod developer team behind Bukkit

Wed 29 Feb 2012 9:44pm GMT / 4:44pm EST / 1:44pm PST
Development

Mojang to incorporate Minecraft mods into official game release following acquisition

Mojang has announced the hiring of four developers responsible for the Bukkit mod for Minecraft, a very popular unofficial tool for Minecraft players and servers.

The team consists of Warren Loo, Erik Broes, Nathan Adams and Nathan Gilbert, who will be joining Mojang to officially turn Bukkit into a part of the full game.

While the four new developers are only a portion of the very dedicated group that plays around with Minecraft source code, Mojang noted that the Bukkit team was specifically designing modifications for Minecraft servers. Their work earned them a shot on the team, as Mojang has already confirmed that the new hires will be working on "more than just modding."

As Mojang continues to support Minecraft, founder Marcus Persson is reportedly hard at work on Scrolls despite the continued legal battle with Bethesda.

1 Comment

It's always nice when a developer acknowledges it's modding community and the bukkit team was doing some very impressive work. I hope for the best for them and that the legal battle is short, for one thing the issue has very little precedent from what I've managed to find, at least from more recent and closer cases, but this is bethesda's legal team here so it'll probably drag on for ages.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now