Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Game Closure nets $12m in first round funding

Fri 24 Feb 2012 3:50pm GMT / 10:50am EST / 7:50am PST
Mobile

HTML5 cross platform gaming service fends of Zynga and Facebook acquisitions

Game Closure has raised $12 million in its first funding round to support its HTML5 development kit for cross platform multiplayer games.

"The industry is going through an extremely fast transition," co-founder Michael Carter told VentureBeat.

"The platforms are changing. Expectations of consumers are changing. Business models are changing. We started the company at the ideal time."

The service lets devs create HTML5 games, and then deploy them across iOS, Facebook and Android. Game Closure has also created its own games, most notably Popstar Defense.

TechCrunch reports its already been approached by interested parties like Facebook, Zynga, GREE and Motorola about acquisition, with Zynga apparently offering $100 million.

The round was led by Highland Capital with Andy Miller in charge.

"Our series A financing was very competitive and gave us the flexibility to think long and hard about which firm and partner we wanted to work with," said Carter.

Still, I knew Andy Miller was the perfect fit after spending just a couple of hours with him: he recently built, operated, and sold his third company, Quattro wireless; he knows the mobile space inside and out; he just left an operational position at Apple as the VP of the iADs platform; and he's one of the smartest and most level-headed people I've had the good fortune to work with."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now