Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Android devices get new virtual currency

Fri 24 Feb 2012 8:53am GMT / 3:53am EST / 12:53am PST
Mobile

Getjar Gold to reward customers with ad supported spending money

Getjar has launched a new payments system for Android devices, Getjar Gold. The virtual currency is supported by advertising, rather than customers buying it with real world dollars.

"The virtual nature of the currency and its linking to the global advertising spend solve two major problems that the traditional billing platforms have struggled with - low conversions due to the complicated user experience and the lack of access to global markets," said GetJar CEO Ilja Laurs.

"Our early results are showing significant increases in both revenue and conversion, and we expect developers will experience an increase of up to 10X for participating."

It shouldn't be a daunting move for the company, which already has Getjar Gold, which rewards gamers with virtual goods. Getjar Gold will take that to the next level, and allow gamers to earn currency that can then be used across the Getjar portfolio for items and to upgrade to premium versions of apps.

Getjar calls itself the largest independent app store, and boasts 350,000 apps which have netted 2 billion downloads. It works with around 395,000 developers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now