Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Tiburon vets launch PixelFoundry Games

Thu 23 Feb 2012 9:41am GMT / 4:41am EST / 1:41am PST
Development

Volga Askoy and Jerry Phaneuf developing debut title BlackSpace for PC

PixelFoundry

PixelFoundry, LLC is a new independent game development studio founded in January 2012. With an experienced...

pixelfoundrygames.co...

Two developers from EA Sports Tiburon have launched their own independent studio, PixelFoundry Games, in Orlando.

Its first title, BlackSpace is a real time strategy game based around asteroids, and will be released on PC.

"We are early in development on BlackSpace," explains Phaneuf.

"In line with some of the forward thinking independent developers out there, we really want to get the community involved with the game, incrementally releasing features and enhancements, while getting reactions and suggestions."

Phaneuf spent six years with EA, while software engineer Askoy spent 8. Together their previous credits include MMA, NASCAR, Tiger Woods, and the Madden franchise.

"Many exciting and unforeseen features in both gameplay and art spring up during a video game's dev cycle," stated the team on their website.

"Due to the momentum of larger game projects, these opportunities are commonly abandoned. We think that small teams, for all their limitations, provide a unique ability to take advantage of this emergent nature of game creation."

Last April Phil Holt, a fellow Tiburon employee, formed his own studio Row Sham Bow.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now